top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Truly Madly Guilty

Liane Moriarty



A fun fact about me, albeit crazy, is that it is my preference to read a book in one sitting. When I don't, I feel like it is happening without me, like a movie that I can't pause. I find myself desperate to get to get back to the book to see what is happening with the characters. Now, oftentimes, this leads to a total disregard for things I SHOULD be doing instead of reading. But I'm blessed with this amazing husband who tells me, "Just go read. You've earned it!" How lucky am I? However, I haven't posted a book review in a while, because I got sidetracked. By television. Which never happens. I went to dinner with friends the other night, and one of them recommended that I watch the Amazon show, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel. I then finished all 3 seasons. In 3 days. I have issues. So, I finally picked up this book again, that I had paused on after only about 65 pages, and I finished it. Having jury duty today helped give me a large chunk of reading time. Thanks...I guess?!?

"No one warned you that having children reduced you right down to some smaller, rudimentary, primitive version of yourself, where your talents and your education and your achievements meant nothing."

So, what did I think?


4 out of 5 Stars


Three couples. Three completely different lifestyles. One spur of the moment barbecue that changes everything. Sam and Clementine, Erika and Oliver, and Tiffany and Vid are all dealing with guilt of some kind. This is the story of love, and of friendship...and of how guilt can seep into your soul and test you. Follow their stories as they journey to figure out whether they are good parents, bad parents, or should even be parents at all.


Liane Moriarty did a nice job of pulling you along through the story. With it's present day and flashback style, you are living both in the past and in the present day, trying to figure out what the heck even happened. Spoiler...you have to read over 230 pages before you find out. I found the characters to be unique, but also relatable in their own ways. My heart was broken, but things came around full circle to give me a sense of peace. I was a little hesitant to read this book, because I'd read a previous highly acclaimed book by this author that just wasn't my cup of tea. I'm glad I gave this book a chance.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page