top of page
  • Miss Librarian

The Four Winds

Kristin Hannah


Whew. Perspective. This last year has been rough, for all of us. A world we never imagined that we would be living in. It has taken a toll on me, for sure. I am exhausted. Maxed out. Emotionally and mentally drained. One of my greatest loves is reading, and the Covid19 pandemic stole that from me. A friend texted me the other day, asking if I had read this book yet, knowing that I've read EVERY Kristin Hannah book, and that she is my absolute favorite author. It's been sitting on my shelf. Waiting. It hurt me to tell her that for the last eight months, I've felt like I couldn't read. I couldn't focus. I decided yesterday to fight back, and I devoured this book. A book that came at just the right time, to help me think bigger than myself.

"Jack says that I am a warrior and, while I don't believe it, I know this: A warrior believes in an end she can't see and fights for it. A warrior never gives up. A warrior fights for those weaker than herself. It sounds like motherhood to me."

5 out of 5 Stars


Elsa grew up feeling unloved. The first time that she thought someone cared, she was all in. This is her character. She is all in. A story of the meaning of true unbreakable love, amongst the unimaginable devastation of the Great Depression. Unending drought. Horrifying poverty. The hope for something better. How much can one person take and still survive?


All. The. Feels. Kristin Hannah amazes me again with her ability to bring characters to life, and pull you right into their world. Her storytelling is written in such a way that you actually feel the suffering taking place. You can feel the dirt on your skin, the heat beating down, and the anger. The main character, Elsa, is someone who at first you feel a bit skeptical about, but grow to deeply care for. What an incredible tale of heartbreak after heartbreak, courage, and a mother's love. I highly recommend this book!

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page