top of page
  • Miss Librarian

The Visionist

Rachel Urquhart


Do you have books on your bookshelf that you have no idea when or how they got there? No? Just me? The problem is, I buy books everywhere I go. My shelves are full of books I've not yet read. Often, I buy books based on the cover or the title, without even reading the description. I'm sure that's what I did here, and why it seems so unfamiliar to me. And yes, I know this makes me a weird book person. It's just who I am.

"She cannot breathe or move, and yet, as she takes leave of the angels and travels miles and miles from the heavens, she imagines she is running through a field of wild flowers, her arms spread wide and her face turned to the sun. She is vanishing beneath him, dividing into twin spirits that join hands as they fly far away."

2 1/2 out of 5 Stars


This is the story of Polly, a young teen in the 1840's. She has suffered traumatic abuse at the hands of her father. One evening, in a quick turn of events, Polly finds herself leaving home with her mother, and her little brother Ben. They end up in a Shaker community, The City of Hope, where Polly's mother leaves her and her brother, in an effort to find a safe place for them. The City of Hope has strict rules, and is unlike any life that Polly could have imagined. Dig in to find out what life is like in the Shaker community, where Polly's mother has gone, and just who is Simon Pryor, and what role does he play in this story?


I must admit, for about the first 30 pages or so I was not into the story. I felt confused, and didn't really know what was going on. However, I did find myself pulled in to the story slowly, as the backstory of Polly's life started to unfold. There is another main character, Simon Pryor, who is fire investigator, bound to work for a horrible man after a childhood tragedy. Watching their characters grow, and how the story unfolded was interesting, though I felt like it was a bit of a rushed, wrapped up ending.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page