top of page
  • Miss Librarian

The Summer Wives

Beatriz Williams



My phone is worthless. It's my own doing. I'm down to about 2 functioning apps, and constant frustration because whatever I'm trying to do, won't work. Ugh. I also suffer from a mind that never turns off. Like, ever. But...how is any of this relevant? A few days ago, after finally falling asleep at 12:30am, I abruptly awoke at 2:00am. And, guess what...the brain. It turned Right. Back. On. Seriously?!? Once it happens I am wide awake. I ended up being awake for 3 hours, but I decided to try to make that time useful. I got on my worthless phone. Remember how I said it's worthlessness is my own doing? It's because I have over 20,000 photos taking up ALL of my memory. So, I spent that time sorting through, and deleting over 3,000 photos. So many of them are screenshots of books that I want to remember to read. This book was one of them. I already had it on my shelf. So, the time seemed right to pick it up and read it.

"...I knew I was in love with him. Just imagine. As innocent, as uncomplicated as that. I still remember that moment, that sweet, shy revelation, remember fondly, because it only comes once in your life, and then it's gone. You can't have it back. And it's only a second! Isn't that capricious? Once measly instant of clarity, tucked inside the reach of your lifelong days. And then the boat touches the shore, and the moment flies, and your life--your real murky, messy, incalculable life--your life resumes."

So, what did I think?


4 out of 5 Stars


A tale of generations, of deceipt, and of love. We get to know our main character, Miranda, through both the present time, as well as by revisiting the first summer that she arrived on Winthrop Island. To understand island life, and all that goes with it, the author also takes us back another generation earlier. Throughout the story, you can feel a tangled web, and will find yourself working to figure out how the pieces all fit together between the generations. What makes a 'bad' mother? Can a broken bond or a deep heartache ever be repaired? Love, (in it's many forms), can be a heartbreaking, wonderful, tragic thing. Don't lose hope.


I enjoyed reading about a time period / setting that I don't typically read about. The book goes back and forth from 1930 to 1951 to 1969. My heart broke when thinking about the the love between a mother and a child. The author evoked emotion in me, which I consider a win. I found myself caring for Bianca, the nieve main main character from 1930. I found myself angry at her. I found myself questioning her character. And then there's Miranda, the main character from both the 1951 and the 1969 time periods. I rooted for her. I celebrated her strength, and I found myself hopeful for her. I would recommend this book. Though there were sections or characters that I felt the story could have gone deeper with, I still wanted to keep reading to find out how everything would come out in the end.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page