top of page
  • Miss Librarian

The Silent Wife

Karin Slaughter


So, I am FINALLY starting to read books that I've been granted access to on NetGalley. I must admit, it's taking me a while to pick up my Kindle. I love the convenience, and I love being able to read without a book light. It just feels different. You see, my "real" books on my bookshelf...I have a method. They're all unread. And when I read one, I move it on top of the shelf. I can see my progress. It's okay. I am blessed with NetGalley. I am blessed to have authors and publishers allowing me to have early access to books. My Kindle is just going to take a little getting used to.

"None of this was a win. Everyone had lost."

4 out of 5 Stars


This story follows Will & Sara as they work to solve a span of rapes and murders that covers 8 years of time. Do they already have the guilty party in custody? Is there a copycat out there commiting gruesome crimes? As they hear gutwrenching stories, and see horrific crime scenes, they just want to bring justice to the victims. At the same time, digging into these cases brings up the past, which means Sara's dead husband. Can Will & Sara solve the cases, and will their relationship be able to survive this?


I have read Karin Slaughter books before, but I didn't realize that she had a series containting the same characters. So, in reading this book, I didn't realize that there were several books that came before this one in the story. However, it was written in such a way that even if you had not read any of the previous books, it wouldn't hinder your understanding of this story. I found myself only feeling like I was missing one real piece of the puzzle, though it wasn't relevant to the outcome of this story. Karin writes great mystery books. I will note that there are some graphic crime scenes in this book. And unimaginable acts. She did a great job of weaving an incredible story. I'm guessing that if you've read any of the other books with Will Trent, you would enjoy this one as well. And, if you haven't read any of the others, you'll be just fine, (though because of my personality, I think I'd like to start at the beginning and get the whole story). Thank you NetGalley for allowing me to have an ARC of this book in exchange for my honest review.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page