top of page
  • Miss Librarian

The Silent Patient

Alex Michaelides


So, this is a crazy time in the world right now. "Shelter in place" orders due to the Corona Virus. I'm an elementary school librarian, and we've been out of school for weeks, with at least another month to come. I am grateful for my love of reading to help me get my mind off things right now. And, woah, did I pick the right book to do that!


"Alicia stared at me. Eyes like lamps, unblinking. I opened my mouth and closed it again. I was determined to resist the urge to fill the void by talking. Instead, by remaining silent and just sitting there, I hoped to communicate something else, something nonverbal: that it was okay for us to sit together like this, that I wouldn't hurt her, that she could trust me. To have any success at getting Alicia to talk, I needed to win her trust."

5 out of 5 Stars


Alicia and and her husband, Gabriel are both artists. Alicia is a painter, and Gabriel is a photographer. They have a seemingly happy marriage. But one night, Gabriel ends up brutally murdered, and the police find Alicia with the gun in her hand. From that moment on, Alicia never speaks. She ends up being admitted to a psychiatric hospital called The Grove. While there, a new therapist named Theo makes her his project. He thinks he can help her, and get her to abandon her silence. But what will that really mean?


YES! I have been wanting a twisty psychological thriller for a while now, and I haven't found one that I've been passionate about. But this one absolutely hooked me. The author paints a picture in your mind of the tragedies that Alicia had to overcome as a child, and what she was going through leading up to the murder, while still leaving you wondering what the heck is going on. And, Theo, her doctor, seems willing to try anything to help Alicia, even if it puts him in danger. I refuse to write too much, because I want the story to surprise you the way it surprised me. I am serious. I eventually got to the beginning of a chapter, and instantly my brain started making connections and shouting, "NO FREAKING WAY!" I love when a book catches me off guard. I encourage you to read and enjoy this one on your own.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page