top of page
  • Miss Librarian

The Paris Seamstress

Natasha Lester



A couple of months ago, I convinced my loving husband to take a stack of books to The Half Price Book Store for me and see if they were worth anything. (I DO NOT like to talk to people that I don't know...it gives me anxiety!) Usually I take the books I've read to school to pass along, but this was a stack of just "meh" books, in my opinion. They gave him a $21 gift card, which I count as a win for sure. Every year after we get our family Christmas photos taken, we go next door to the book store and shop. I decided to use my gift card. After reading the spines of nearly every book on the adult fiction shelf, I decided to buy this one. My daughter is Paris obsessed, so having Paris in the title caught my attention, and the book blurb totally pulled me in.

"He always said it wasn't love if you wouldn't give up everything for the other. Otherwise it was just a flame, not worth the candle it was lit upon."

So, what did I think?


5 out of 5 Stars


This story takes place partially following Estella in the 1940's, and partially following Fabienne in the present day. As a woman in her early twenties, Estella was sent to America by her mother to escape the war that was making its way into France. On the trip to America she made a friend, Sam, who would be vital in helping her to become settled in a country that she had never been to. Estella, with an eye for fashion and incredible skill, found herself working in the American fashion industry, though not truly satisfied, nor able to hold her tongue about her strong opinions. Her journey includes her friendships with Sam, Janie (a model), Alex (a mysterious man that she first met in Paris but has shown up in America), and Lena (her American doppelganger). Then there is Fabienne, in the present day. Estella's granddaughter. Determined to be successful in her work, but alone. Her father had recently passed away, and her mother spend all of her time helping cancer patients. Estella suggests that Fabienne take a trip to Paris, and while there, fate intervenes and places Sam and Melissa into her path for the second time. Fabienne and Sam's journey is full of twists and turns, but one thing remains true. Loss is inevitable, and love is everything.


My heart. I loved this book. I loved that it ventured off of the beaten path of a typical WWII historical fiction book, and took place mostly in America, giving you a different perspective of life at this time. Fasion from this era, and the details that were given about the industry were fascinating. The mystery of the relationships throughout the book were captivating. I found myself developing connections with both Estella and Fabienne and having my heart break for both of them. This book made me think about the incredibly close relationship that I have with my grandma, and how much I need her in my life, and need her to live forever. For the last twenty-five pages of the book I felt as though I was holding my breath. It is a book that will stick with me for quite a while.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page