top of page
  • Miss Librarian

The Giver of Stars

Updated: Jul 24, 2020

Jojo Moyes


I am a librarian. It is my calling. I sometimes wonder why I didn't realize this sooner. Oddly enough, I often choose books at random, which is not really the "librarian" way of doing things. But, I will see a cover and think, "Yes, I'm going to read this." Or, I will have seen a title come across my newsfeed several times, and when I see the book in person, I just buy it without even looking at it. This is how I ended up with The Giver of Stars. I had seen the title come up a few times on my social media platforms. I had read Jojo Moyes books before, so I just bought it. It's been on my shelf for awhile, and so I finally picked it up the other day to read it, as I have a friend who is like 168th in line at the library for it, and I knew I could get it to her quicker than that. Now, oftentimes, with my random book choices, I don't even read the description. I just start the book. Which is what I did in this case. Low and behold, much to my surprise, it was about librarians. Fate, I tell ya!

"She would pull the trigger for her friend; she had no doubt of that. Because something else had changed too, something fundamental. Alice had discovered how, for a woman at least, it was much easier to feel anger on behalf of someone you cared about, to access that cold burn, to want to make someone suffer if they had hurt someone you loved. Alice, it turned out, was no longer afraid."

4 out of 5 Stars


Alice's life in England isn't exactly spectacular. So, when a studly American named Bennett comes to town, she is quickly swept away, and finds herself married and on her way to a new life in Kentucky. Life in Kentucky, it turns out, is no honeymoon. Being in such close quarters to her father-in-law puts a strain on her marriage. She finally finds happiness in the friendships that she makes being one of the Packhorse Librarians of Kentucky. As some relationships grow, others are falling apart. Full of heartbreak, hope, and history, find out what's in store for Alice.


I had no idea that Packhorse Librarians were a thing. How fascinating! It was interesting to see the dynamics of the town play out in a time where segregation was still in place, women were still expected to be in the kitchen, and it was still pretty much a "man's world." I found myself caring for many characters in the story. Alice, who was living a life that didn't seem fair. Margery, who came from a traumatic upbringing, but had so much heart, and was breaking the cycle. Fred, who is kind, compassionate, and patient. Kathleen, who is strong and admirable. Great storytelling. I would definitely recommend this book, and I look forward to learning more about the Packhouse Librarians of Kentucky.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentaris


bottom of page