top of page
  • Miss Librarian

My Dear Hamilton: A Novel of Eliza Schuyler Hamilton

Stephanie Dray & Laura Kamoie


So, let's talk Hamilton. For years I've wanted to see the musical. My cousin and I would say, "Yeah, we really need to do that. We should go sometime." Fast forward to 2020, the world shuts down in a global pandemic, and Disney+ releases Hamilton. Yaaaaasssssss! I was hooked. Immediately after watching, I knew that I needed more Hamilton in my life. This book had been on my TBR for a year, so I FINALLY bought it. Best decision ever. (Not gonna lie, Hamilton was a name that I knew before this, but to be honest, a person that I knew NOTHING about. Not shocking to those of you who know from other posts that history was by far my weakest subject in school.)

"We think we know the people we love. We think that love gives us more than a glimpse into one another's souls. But the idea that human beings are knowable is one of the many lies we tell in the service of love."

5 out of 5 Stars


A historical fiction book told from the view of Elizabeth Schuyler Hamilton. The authors, Dray & Kamoie did a wonderful job of explaining in both the Notes to the Reader and the Note from the Authors sections, the decisions that they had to make while writing this book. What events in the story were factual, what did they have to create, what changes or slight alterations did they make to history, and why, etc. Through this story, you will learn about this history of the founding of the United States. And through the character development done by the authors, you will find yourself both devoted and invested.


H.O.L.Y. It was everything I wanted it to be. Elizabeth, (also referred to as Betsy or Eliza), was an incredible woman. The story that they've been able to create for her seems absolutely believeable, though the authors mention that there is not a lot of information out there about her. By immersing themselves in her story, and putting themselves in her shoes, I believe that they have created a masterpiece. A book that, even though is 600+ pages long, will leave you desiring more. I will be looking at more information about this time period myself, as I am both intrigued and fascinated. So many historical figures that I know very basic information about...in truth, it makes me feel ashamed as a teacher. I need to know more. I can't wait to learn more. Yes. Thank you, dear authors, for pulling me in with your incredible storytelling. Yes.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page