top of page
  • Miss Librarian

The Fountains of Silence

Updated: Jul 24, 2020

Ruta Sepetys


The high school librarian in my school district has a "What I'm reading" signature on her e-mail. I noticed that she had this book down there, and it caught my attention. I recognized the author's name, because I have recently read Salt to the Sea. Knowing that I enjoyed that book, and the historical fiction genre, I asked her if I could borrow this book without learning anything else about it. I am glad I did! I read the book in two days, and I enjoyed it.


"Silence has a voice of its own."

4 out of 5 Stars


Daniel is a 19-year-old boy, who has travelled with his parents, from Texas to Spain. His father is working on an oil deal with the dictator, Francisco Franco. His mother has Spanish roots. Excited to work on his photography there, Daniel soon realizes that there are some things that you are not meant to see. After befriending a hotel maid, Ana, he begins to learn some of the history of Spain. There is more going on than there seems to be at first glance. Secrets that are dangerous. Life in Spain is not at all like life in Texas. Daniel falls in love, but when two people are from such different backgrounds, can it really work? And will Daniel get to the bottom of what is really going on?


Again. I've said it before. I am not well educated in world topics. History was never interesting to me. I had never heard of Francisco Franco, nor could I really tell you anything about Spain. What I can tell you is that I want to know more. I am so grateful to historical fiction, for grabbing me with characters and opening my eyes to new knowledge. After reading this book, I am left wanting to know more about Spain, and its history. The struggle, the heartbreak, the secrets. I also had a deep appreciation for the amount of research that Ruta Sepetys did for this novel. At the back of the book, the Author's Note and Resource and Sources section were fascinating. I recommend this book to fans of historical fiction.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page