top of page
  • Miss Librarian

The Aviator's Wife

Updated: Jul 24, 2020

Melanie Benjamin


I borrowed this book from a friend awhile ago. I feel bad that I kept it for so long, stacked in my never ending TBR pile. I finally read it, and found myself thinking...what took me so long? Why didn't I read this sooner? Another historical fiction book, I'm sure you're shocked by that. I just can't get enough of this genre! I especially love when the authors of historical fiction include notes at the end.


"Only the weak need...heroes...and heroes need...those around them to remain weak. You're...not weak."

4 out of 5 Stars


Anne Morrow is the daughter of an ambassador. She is not the only son, that's her brother Dwight. She is not the beautiful daughter, that's her sister Elisabeth. She is the the sometimes overlooked other daughter. Her family has invited Charles Lindbergh to Christmas. This is where her story begins. Her relationship with Charles is not typical. He is not typical. Tragedy, love, committment, and heartbreak are all part of their story. Anne has always looked for a hero. Has she found one, in Charles?


Fascinating. I devoured this book, drawn in by Anne's story. What a thoughtful point of view of the Lindberghs. Anne was a character who you related to, got frustrated with, and felt heartbroken for. The history of air travel, the glimpses of the time period, the relationships woven throughout, were captivating. I appreciated that the author, Melanie Benjamin, pointed out in the author's note the parts of the story that were real and the parts of the story that were fiction. She did an incredible job of imagining what Anne might have been feeling, and portraying it in a way that is completely believable. I am interested now, to learn more about the story of the Lindberghs.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page