top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Sold on a Monday

Updated: Jul 24, 2020

Kristina McMorris


When I saw the cover of this book, it gave me the feelings of others I'd read before that I really enjoyed, like Orphan Train, and When We Were Yours. Also, it came with the New York Times Bestseller label. So, I thought, why not? I'll give it a try. Usually, I read a book in a day or so. I have this problem where I have to devour books, because I feel like the characters are doing something without me when I'm not reading. Weird, I know. However, I just didn't find myself pulled in to this one. Maybe it's because my mind is wrapped up in the pandemic and teaching at home, and making sure my kids are learning at home?!? *Shrug*


"Photography is the art of observation. It has little to do with the things you see and everything to do with the way you see them."

2 out of 5 Stars


The year is 1931. Ellis is a newspaper reporter, who happens to happens to have an eye for capturing depth in photographs. He happens upon two young boys, sitting on the porch of their home, with a sign that said, "2 children for sale." His photograph ends up being given to the chief. This photograph starts a Ellis down a path of regret. Will Ellis be able to right his wrongs? A heartbreaking, tragic story about struggle and sacrifice.


I had high hopes for this book. I just couldn't find myself all the way pulled in and connected to the story. The first half of the book was hard for me to get through. I put the book down several times, and came back to it later. I liked the story line, but it felt a little surface level for me. I was definitely pulled in to the book more towards the end of the story. I'm learning that it is hard for me to write a review when it's not my favorite book. I just wanted the story to feel deeper than it did. And while there were certainly parts of the book that pulled at my heart strings, it just didn't quite get there for me.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page