top of page
  • Miss Librarian

My (not so) Perfect Life

Sophie Kinsella


I have two tall 5-shelf bookshelves in my bedroom. Seven of those ten shelves are completely full of books I've bought that I haven't read yet, (alphabetized by author, of course). Yesterday, I decided to start working my way through them by randomly pulling one from each shelf to read. I picked this book up quite a while ago. It was about time that I read it. I had read Confessions of a Shopaholic quite a while ago. That's the only other book of hers I've read.


"Every time you see someone's bright-and-shiny, remember: They have their own crappy truths too. Of course they do."

3 out of 5 Stars


Katie Brenner is the low man on the totem pole at a big company in London. Her boss, Demeter, is a bit much. So much so, that everyone in the office appears to think she's the absolute worst. Katie just wants to have her ideas acknowledged, but ends up losing her job, and moving back to the farm to help her father and stepmother with a new glamping adventure. Through all of this, Katie learns about who she is, what her worth is, and even finds friendship and love along the way.


This was a good, light read. Katie got herself tangled in so many lies. I found myself wondering what I would have done if I'd been in her shoes. I appreciated that you could see her genius come out through the story. She really is good at what she does. I loved the sweet relationship between Katie and her father and stepmother. If you are a fan of light fiction, you would probably enjoy this book.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page