top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Looking for Alaska

John Green



So, sometime last summer, Jim and Alyssa went on a garage sale adventure. Of course, my husband who loves me so much, and puts up with the tens of thousands of books I have stacked and piled everywhere, thought I could use a few more because he got a good deal. The poor girl who was selling this book had left it out in the rain on a camping trip.

"Thomas Edison's last words were, "It's very beautiful over there." I don't know where there is, but I believe it's somewhere, and I hope it's beautiful."

So, what did I think?


2 out of 5 Stars


While I'm filing this away in adult fiction, it is technically a YA read. The book is about a group of misfits at a boarding school in the south. The main character, Miles/"Pudge", is new to the school in his junior year. He starts off hopeful that he will make friends, since he had exactly zero friends back at his public school in Florida. The author of course plays up the line between the haves and the have nots. It's an ongoing prank war throughout. And of course, our star, Miles falls in love with the girl with issues, who despite being a very good friend, never reciprocates those feelings until it's too late. The story wasn't super believable for me. It is a fairly quick read, and does talk about a lot of teen topics, one that I am, (GASP!), not ready to discuss with my almost 13-year-old son anytime soon. There was really only one scene that I felt was too graphic for a good YA book, but that very well could be the 0.1% conservative side of my personality. I could see teens enjoying this book, and looking into the deeper question of, where do we actually go when we're gone.


To sum it up, just not my cup of tea. But there is definitely an audience for this. I'm pretty sure, I'm just too old.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page