top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Everything I Never Told You

Celeste Ng


Friend book swaps are my favorite. I love getting a text saying, "Hey, I just finished this book. Have you read it? Do you have any books I can borrow?" First of all, I didn't have to go and buy another book. Second of all, I get to share my personal library. And, I got to have a socially distanced parking lot chat with a friend that I haven't seen in months due to the quarantine. Sharing books makes my heart happy!

"People decide what you're like before they even get to know you."

4 out of 5 Stars


James Lee is a Chinese American. He was born in the United States. Growing up, all he wants is to fit in. But being the only Chinese kid, you are almost born to stand out. He marries Marilyn, a brave white woman, who stands up to her mother when she aks her if she's sure she wants to have a mixed marriage. Together, they have three children, Nath, Lydia, and Hannah. Follow their stories, hear what's on their hearts, and connect with their emotions as they each try to figure out where they belong.


This story jumps back and forth in time, from the present, to the time that James and Marilyn were growing up. It also jumps around in point of view. In writing the story this way, the author, Celeste Ng, really gives you a deep understanding of each character in the story. Getting to know them, and see how their stories affect the outcome of their lives, is touching. It felt so real to see how people can be so misunderstood. How things appear is not necessarily how they are. The youngest child, Hannah, seems like a back seat character for most of the story, but I loved how she came out strong toward the end. My heart broke for Nath and Lydia...and I believe that is when I saw their lives begin to take shape.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page