top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Dear Edward

Ann Napolitano


A few months ago, I was at the hair salon under the dryer. I picked up the random magazine beside me, and started flipping through it. One one of the pages, I found some new book recommendations. My lucky day. My stylist, Paige, told me to come over to get my hair washed. I told her that I had to grab my phone first, because I needed to take a picture of that page in the magazine. #priorities I took the photo, put the magazine back, and went on with my hair appointment. A while later, I came across this book online. I remembered that this one was stored in my MANY photos on my phone, and I decided to purchase it while I was thinking about it.


"'I wouldn't have done that to you'--Edward looks at his uncle and then over at Shay; this applies to her too--'because I know what it's like to be left behind.'"

5 out of 5 Stars


Edward is a twelve-year-old boy, who just so happens to be the only survivor of a horrific plane crash. His family was in the process of moving form New York to California. He, along with his parents, and his 15-year-old brother Jordan were on the flight. This story takes you through not only Edwards life after the accident, but also gives you glimpses into the lives of the others who were on the plane. How do you move on from something so tragic. Or, do you really ever move on?


If I'm being honest, which I always promise to be in my book reviews, I was rating this book 4 out of 5 stars for most of the story. It's a good book. I was emotionally invested in the stories being told, and not just Edward's. But then I reached about the last sixty pages, and I just devoured it. My heart. A plane crash is truly such an unimaginable event. How quickly would it happen? What could really be going on during that time? Could you even process it? Not to mention, how you are ever supposed to go on, when nobody else got the chance? What purpose is there for such tragedy? Oh, Edward. You will love him, and your heart will break for him, and your heart will hope for him. I'll be thinking about Edward long after today. This I know.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page