top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Mine

J. L. Butler


For a while, I was completely hooked on psychological thrillers. I read them back to back to back. I then took a break and moved on to other genres. Now, I try to genre hop a little, so I I don't get too bogged down in the same feel. I realized the other day that I hadn't picked up a thriller in a while, so I pulled this one off of my TBR shelf.


"'Bankers share quite a lot of traits with psychopaths,' she said, crossing her legs. 'Lack of empathy, huge ego, often quite charming. You'll find the highest levels of psychopathy in bankers, CEOs and psychiatrists.'"

3 out of 5 Stars


Francine is a divorce lawyer, who is working on making a name for herself. When she meets her new client, Martin, she feels a pull. Unable to help herself, she eventually finds herself crossing professional boundaries and in a relationship with Martin. Trying to keep the relationship under wraps is hard enough, but then his beautiful, soon to be ex-wife, Donna, goes missing. What happened to Donna? Can Francine help solve the case? What has she gotten herself into?


Okay. As I mentioned, I've read a lot of psychological thrillers. Which means I hold them to a pretty high standard. Therefore, I ranked this book 3 out of 5 stars. It was a good book. And the author did throw you off the path, by giving you inklings of many possibilities of what was happening. For a while, I was certain I had it figured out, but it seemed to obvious to me. I was wrong, by the way. I think fans of psychological thrillers would enjoy the book. I only didn't rank it higher because I didn't find myself caring about the characters. The outcome didn't really matter to me, as I just didn't form a connection with Francine.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page