top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Tyrannosaurus Rex vs. Edna The Very First Chicken

Douglas Rees


My whole life, I've heard people say that chickens are dinosaurs. I've never paid attention to it. I don't know what they actually mean. I was never really into dinosaurs. The most I've ever known about dinosaurs was when my now 13 year old son was between the ages of 4-6 and was obsessed with all things dinosaurs. And even then...everything was logged into my short term memory. I do recall watching many episodes of Dino Dan. Anyway, when I saw that one of my state award nominees was about a dinosaur and a chicken, I was intrigued.

"'Get out of here, you strange-looking little whatever-you-are,' Parasaurolophus said. 'Or Tyrannosaurus will eat you right up.' Edna didn't run. She just stayed where she was, pecking seeds for her breakfast."

5 out of 5 Stars


Edna is the very first chicken. She lives surrounded by dinosaurs. One day, Tyrannosaurus is hungry for breakfast. The other dinosaurs try to warn Edna, but she doesn't budge. Soon after, Tyrannosaurus shows up to eat Edna, and a great battle ensues. Will she survive?


Yes! My students LOVED this book. It is especially great if you get REALLY into character and use it as a read aloud. That feisty little Edna...I bet Tyrannosaurus never thought she had it in her. This is a good story about standing up for yourself and others. It's also a hilarious story, guaranteed to make kids laugh. And the ending is perfect, for kids and adults alike. I highly recommend this book.

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page