top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Aven Green Sleuthing Machine

Dusti Bowling


As an elementary school librarian, I make great effort to house a diverse collection of books. I think it is important for people to see characters of all races, ethnicities, cultures, and abilities. I am always looking for more great books to open the eyes of my students.

"My arms weren't pulled off in a particularly ruthless game of tug of war. They weren't blown off by a firecracker, and they weren't flattened by a steamroller. Nope. The truth is I was just born like this."

4 out of 5 Stars


Aven Green is a third grade girl, who is very unique. She was born with no arms, and has adapted to life without them. This new series is a younger version of the same character from Dusti Bowling's book, Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus. Follow Aven as she works to solve the mystery of her great grandma's missing dog, as well as several mysterious messes at her school.


Aven Green is a character who reminds me a little of a Junie B. Jones, or a Heidi Heckelbeck. This is a good series for those readers who are ready to transition into chapter book reading. I love that this series has a main character who is differently abled, and instead of focusing on things she can't do, it gives a glimpse into a life where things are just done differently. Kids will think she's a little silly, and will also be able to relate to her need to solve mysteries.

12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page