top of page
  • Miss Librarian

The Pout-Pout Fish in the Big-Big Dark

Deborah Diesen


Some people really enjoy being scared. They like the rush and the excitement. The adrenaline. Not me. Uh-uh, no way. I don't watch scary movies. I don't do haunted houses. As a child, I loved my Gizmo night light. (Why I had Gizmo, I don't know...ironic that I had watched Gremlins when I don't like scary movies). Perhaps I was a bit more brave as a child than I am as an adult.


"I'm FAST as a sailfish, I'm STRONG as a shark, I'm SMART as a dolphin...but I'm SCARED OF THE DARK!"

3 out of 5 Stars


Pout-Pout fish is on an adventure to help a friend in need. Poor Ms. Clam has lost her pearl, and Mr. Fish is determined to help her find it. As he travels through the ocean, he gets a little nervous. He tries to remind himself that he can be brave, but he's not so sure. A friendly voice guides him along and he keeps going. Mr. Fish learns that two can be better than one when you're trying to face your fears.


Pout-Pout Fish books are not the deepest books you'll find out there. They can feel a little repetitive from book to book. However, their rhyming lines and repetetive phrases can hook even the youngest of listeners. And, having a story about friends helping friends and overcoming your fears is always a good topic for kids. It's a cute book for primary children.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page