top of page
  • Miss Librarian

The One and Only Bob

Katherine Applegate


Covid19 "Distance Learning" was NOT my fav. I would've given anything to teach my kiddos in person. However, during distance learning from March - May, I went live on Facebook every evening with a bedtime story, and every weekday afternoon with a chapter book read aloud. I was SO excited when my copy of The One and Only Bob showed up on my porch. Now, I'm no Danny DeVito, (who did the read aloud on Audible), but I loved reading this book aloud to my students.

"Maybe it's easier to forgive others once you've learned how to forgive yourself."

5 out of 5 Stars


In this follow up book to The One and Only Ivan, we get to see Bob, and his loving soul. Bob puts on a front like he is a tough guy, but he is so much more than that. In the story, we follow Bob as a terrible storm rolls through town. Through the devastation, we find hope, a bit of a miracle, and healing. Your favorite characters Ivan and Ruby are back as well.


What a touching follow up story. Learning about Bob's beginning, and the guilt that he carries with him, gave a deeper perspective into his character. I just absolutely love the relationship he has with Ruby. I think Katherine Applegate does a great job of giving animals feelings, that kids will really connect with. Without giving too much away, I will say that I worried, I hoped, and I cheered in this story. I recommend this for all ages of elementary students.

16 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page