top of page
  • Miss Librarian

The Good Thieves

Katherine Rundell


I'm having one of those days where I read more than one book, and then realize that I've randomly chosen books that are related. Today's topic just happened to be thieves. Ironically, I'd even say they were both about good thieves, if you believe in such a thing. While I was reading this book for a committee that is narrowing down choices for a 3rd grade-ish book, I'd probably recommend it for students who are a little older.

"And then one day her grandparents arrived from America. Grandpa sat by her bed, gave her a Ping-Pong ball, and told her to call him when she could hit the head surgeon with it. Then he drew, with the steady hand of a jeweler, a very small bull's-eye on the far hospital wall. She missed, and missed, until she did not."

4 out of 5 Stars


Vita's grandfather has been taken advantage of in America. So, she and her mother leave England to try to convince him to come home with them. While in America, Vita's grandfather tells her the story of the evil man who has stolen their home, (a castle if you can believe it). With the help of some new friends, and quite a bit of danger, Vita sets off on a mission to make things right again.


I love a story with a child who is a little mischevious, but working for the greater good. That definitely describes Vita. She would do anything to fix her grandpa's situation. I found myself thinking about the love I have for my grandpa, and what I would do for him. I found myself intrigued by the unique group of friends she ends up bonding with after arriving in America. I do think this book is better suited to children who are a little older, probably 4th grade or so. There is a brief mention of racism, but also some bad guys that have an old school gangster feel, along with death threats and guns. There is also illegal alcohol production going on under the streets of New York. However, this was a good adventure story, and I think that children would enjoy it.

12 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page