top of page
  • Miss Librarian

The Crayon Man: The True Story of the Invention of Crayola Crayons

Natascha Biebow



Nostalgia. Can you smell it? Fresh crayons. Ahhh. Takes me back to watching Mr. Rogers teach us how crayons are made. If you haven't seen the video, you must! I love crayons. And I am a total crayon snob. It's Crayola, or nothing. Seriously...nothing compares! I can't wait to show the video to my daughter, Alyssa, who I am sure is going to love learning about crayons just as much as I did as a kid. Insert sarcasm here, but also hope?!

"He noticed the yellow-orange petals of the black-eyed Susans in his garden. He marveled at the rich scarlet-red tones of the cardinal's feathers. he admired the deep blue-greens of the waves in the sea. Color made him really, really HAPPY!"

So, what did I think?


5 out of 5 Stars


Edwin Binney is a name that I don't ever remember hearing until I read this book. He was an inventor with a passion for color. He created dust free chalk. He created a black crayon that could could write on wood. But he wanted more. He wanted color. Through much experimentation, he went on to invent Crayola crayons. Did you know it was his wife who named them? Smart lady. To this day, children all over the world are still using Crayola crayons! The back of the book gives a 10 step process in photographs for how Crayola crayons are made today. So cool.


LOVED IT! This book is super child friendly read about one of the greatest inventions ever, IMO. I enjoyed learning about how Edwin Binney started and worked with his cousin, C. Harold Smith. I liked that there were short little blips of scientific information on color creation. And really, I just loved how this book took me back to my childhood. Color = Happiness

6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page