top of page
  • Miss Librarian

The Bravest Man in the World

Patricia Polacco


When I was in the fourth grade, we got to try out orchestra instruments at school. You could then sign up to play one. I have no idea how my parents even came up with the money for me to rent a violin to play. Needless to say, I have NO musical talent. That hobby didn't last past the fourth grade. But I love listening to music. And the talent that musicians possess is simply amazing to me.

"Remember, Jonathan...every violin has a soul, and it has its own voice. Now go give your violin a voice that comes from your very soul. God bless."

So, what did I think?


5 out of 5 Stars


Jonathan is a boy who would much rather be playing outside with his friends, than practicing music. He wants to be strong and brave...not a sissy musician. His Grandfather tells him a story of the bravest man in the world. And guess what, he was a musician! How is this possible? Well, travel back to a trip on the Titanic, and find out!


Patricia Polacco is known for her beautiful story telling, and this book is no different. Both her characters and her story have depth that is not easily found in many other books. She does an incredible job of weaving a story of struggle, companionship, love, and bravery. This story about a young orphan boy who happens upon an incredible musician who takes him under his wing will get you right in the feels. Most fasicnating of all is that you find out in the Author's Note that the Titanic musician was a real person! Students will be hooked. My elementary students can't get enough about anything Titanic related. Heads up. There is one line in the book that may be touchy: "We've hit an iceberg! This ship has hit a damned iceberg!"

5 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page