top of page
  • Miss Librarian

The Boy Who Invented the Popsicle: The Cool Science Behind Frank Epperson's Famous Frozen Treat

Anne Renaud


Quite a while ago now, I checked out a TON of books for a committee that I'm on. Seriously. I literally went to 3 different library systems, and about 6 different branches. And now, I have gigantic stacks of these books at my house, because all of the libraries are closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. So, I thought to myself, this is the perfect time to blog my reactions to these new books. I'm telling you, the stack is tall. So, let's get started!

"When he woke the next morning, Frank ran to his back porch to discover his soda water had frozen solid. He could no longer sip it. He had to lick it--like a lollipop! Frank had invented a frozen drink on a stick!"

5 out of 5 Stars


Frank Epperson was born in 1894. As a child, he was always curious. He questioned things around him everyday. Frank wanted to be an inventor. One unusual night in San Francisco, the temperature dropped below freezing. Frank left his soda water outside, and when he went to retrieve it the next day, he discovered that you could eat it frozen. This started his adventure with the creation of popsicles.


What kid doesn't love popsicles? The cool thing about Frank's story is that if you continue to question things around you, it can lead to discoveries. We should always be working to foster inquisitiveness in children. I think my favorite part of this book though, is that there are four child friendly experiments throughout the book. I think this is a biography that children would enjoy, not only because it is fun, but also because it is about someone that they've probably never learned about before. Thanks for the popsicles, Frank!

11 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page