top of page
  • Miss Librarian

The Boy, The Boat, and the Beast

Samantha M. Clark



I started a new program for my school this year called Books for Every Bulldog. With the help of the teachers from my building, and our wonderful friends and family on social media, we were able to get every single child in my building sponsored for a new book to take home and keep every month of the school year. Amazing! Originally, we were planning to puchase all of our books through a certain school friendly vendor that has always offered $1 books monthly for kids. However, part of the way through the school year, said company changed their offerings, leaving us in a bit of a lurch. After doing a lot of research, I came across another company that offers affordable books. However, I had to cross my fingers and hope for the best for my first order, having not used this company before. Well, my first shipment arrived yesterday, and I'm impressed. This is the book that my third grade teachers selected from few different options that I gave them.

"Maybe you can't tell the strength of a person until you've seen inside their fears. Maybe a person can't tell their own strength until they can face their doubts."

So, what did I think?


4 out of 5 Stars


A boy wakes up in the sand, and has no idea who he is or how he got there. He knows he hasn't just been born, because he already knows things...such as that he is on an island, and that his shirt says, "In real life, I'm a pirate". In this fantasy/adventure story, the boy has to journey to find out who he is, why he is here, and how he is supposed to get back home, wherever that may be. There are many obstacles to overcome along the way. Will he find out where he belongs?


Woah. I don't know what I expected when I picked up this book, but it was so much more than I anticipated. Deep, but intriguing. Samantha M. Clark wrote in such a unique way, that I was pulled right in. The boy's inner monologue, and his struggles left you feeling desperate to want to help him. Incredible that a book can be written with only one character and one point of view for 90% of the book, and it be a boy ALONE ON AN ISLAND, and you're not bored of reading it. Wow. As the story got closer to the end, I worried that it was too deep...but I think it was just right in the end. This was outside of the typical style of book that I enjoy, but I am glad that I left my comfort zone for a couple of hours. It was worth it.

7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page