top of page
  • Miss Librarian

The Binder of Doom: Brute-Cake

Troy Cummings


I'm going to be totally honest. Sometimes when I read a book, I have no idea how I'm going to "star" it. I might be totally and completely bored by a book, but I know that it is really popular with my students, which is the point. So, the struggle ensues. I've decided that I should rate it based on my own interest and opinion, but give info about why kids enjoy it in the description. So, now you know. That's my plan.

"FWOOM! The oven door flew open, filling the room with heat. BLOMP! A loaf-shaped cake flopped onto the floor. It was bumpy, brown, and covered with shiny bits of fruit and nuts."

2 out of 5 Stars


Alexander is having a bummer summer. He wants to hang out with his friends Nikki and Rip, but they haven't really hung out since the S.S.M.P. caught all of the town's loose monsters. The S.S.M.P. is the Super Secret Monster Patrol. Strange things start happening around town, and Nikki and Rip end up hanging out together again. When they start invesigating a noise in Rip's attic, they discover a monster fruit cake, AKA Brute-Cake. Join the S.S.M.P. as they try to save the town from monsters.


Truth. I, (adult me), just wasn't excited about this book. Monsters aren't really my jam, and I thought it was a little strange that 90% of the action happened in the last 10% of the book. But, whatever. Here's what I know. My students love The Notebook of Doom series by Troy Cummings. And I'm pretty sure they will love this follow up series as well. Especially my second grade readers. They love that they can read a chapter book without super struggling. And, they like monters. And, they like things that involve trading cards. They will like the illustrations that are included throughout the book, and this series will always be checked out of my elementary library. So, a win for kids. I do LOVE the books in the Scholastic Branches series for hooking my readers and helping them to feel independent.

8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page