top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Sweety

Andrea Zuill



This is another book that I am reading for the Greater Kansas City Association of School Librarians. Working my way through the list of many to narrow down for the 2021-2022 award nominees. I have to admit, I've never been a naked mole rat fan. I find that it doesn't change for me even when they become fictional.

"Her own grandmother called her a little square peg. Sweety didn't exactly know what that meant. But she did know that she didn't always fit in."

So, what did I think?


2 out of 5 Stars


Sweety is the story of a young naked mole rat who doesn't fit in with all of the others. She overwhelms the others with her intensity, she has strange hobbies, and she doesn't feel understood. Sometimes she dreams of being more "normal" but that wouldn't be true to who she really is. Her Aunt Ruth seems to be the only one who "gets" her, and she gives Sweety some good advice. You shouldn't have to change who you are to impress others. If you stay true to yourself, you will find the people who get you. Be patient, and don't change.


While I value the message of the story, this just wasn't my favorite book. I didn't find the illustrations to be all that exciting, and Sweety's weird hobbies didn't really connect with me. I do feel like it is important for children to be exposed repeatedly to the idea that they should be who they are. I think this is actually a great book to teach that concept. I also think it could be used as a teaching tool from the perspective of the other naked mole rats. What should you or could you do if you were around someone who was a little different, like Sweety...someone who you felt like you didn't have anything in common with? Though it is not my top choice, this book definitely has its place as a teaching tool.

9 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page