top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Starfish

Lisa Fipps


My family has been on my mind so much lately. My younger sister is going through some really heavy things right now, things I cannot even begin to imagine. And, I'm feeling a little lost. I am a helper. I am a fixer. That's what I've always tried to do. And, I can't fix this for her. The amount of strength that she is showing right now is admirable. She wouldn't see it that way, I'm sure. She is just doing everything she can, in every way possible, fighting for her family. This book had me reflecting on our childhood. And how our relationship as sisters when we were young, has changed and molded into the relationship we have now. I don't think I've ever apologized sincerely enough for some of the mean, hurtful things I said to her when we were children. It's not too late. I want to build a closer relationship with my sister while there is still time left for us to do it.

"Does everybody make somebody feel like a nobody?"

4 out of 5 Stars


Ellie is an 11-year-old girl, who has been bullied for so long, that she doesn't know what it is like to feel accepted. Not by her classmates, not by her siblings, and especially, not by her mother. Fortunately for Ellie, she has a few people in her life that always work to show her that she is valued, loved, and worthy. Follow her emotional journey through cruel pranks, pressure to be thin, and working to be able to love herself.


This book written in verse is heartbreakingly beautiful. This book had me self reflecting about all of the times I've felt not good enough. When I've taken other people's opinions to heart, and probably even assumed that people were thinking horrible things about me, when it's likely they weren't even thinking about me at all. On the flip side, it had me feeling remorse for all of the times that I've said hurtful, hateful things, not paying any attention to the fact that those things can stick with someone forever. Words aren't easily forgotten. Though they can be forgiven, you can't take them back once they are said. We should remind ourselves daily of that. It costs nothing to be kind. Wonderful debut novel by this author. I highly recommend this book, especially to children between fourth and eighth grades.

8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page