top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Salt in His Shoes: Michael Jordan In Pursuit of a Dream

Deloris Jordan & Roslyn M. Jordan


I was searching my library for a read aloud that would be able to catch the attention of my fourth grade students. It's a new year, and I wanted a book about setting goals and working to achieve them, that I could tie in to a lesson on making resolutions, and what we can do so that we don't just fail at keeping them. This well loved book that's been in my library for 17 years was just what I was looking for. Who better to have as a hard working, goal reaching role model than Michael Jordan?

"Being taller may help you play a little better, but not as much as practice, determination, and giving your best will. Those are the things that make you a real winner."

So, what did I think?


5 out of 5 Stars


Young Michael loves to play basketball with his older brothers at the park. There's only one problem...he's not as tall as the other guys. And one guy in particular, Mark, won't let him forget it. Michael is convinced that the reason he's not the best player is becuse he isn't tall enough. After talking to his mother, she gives him some advice, and he sticks to it. He is determined to grow, and boy does he...just not in the way that he was so focused on.


What a perfect book for teaching children about perseverance and hard work. Everybody has start somewhere...even an icon like Michael Jordan. This book is relatable for kids, and the message is outstanding. I love the support that he is shown from his family, and the attitude that he portrays even when he's feeling down. I highly recommend this book to kids of all ages. Never give up, work hard, and don't lose faith.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page