top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Little Girl Gone

Drusilla Campbell


Back when we used to go out into public for non-essentials, I would spend time browsing through all of the titles at Half Price Books. You really never know what you're going to come across back in that clearance corner, as you are looking at every spine for something that grabs your attention. That's where I found this title, though I have to admit, it has stayed on my shelf for more than a year without being read. I'm currently doing a random pull and read from all of my unread books, and this was the lucky winner.

"Here was the truth: as she was an unlucky girl, Willis was a boy with his own sad history. Thinking this, a mothering pity welled in her. For him and for herself."

2 out of 5 Stars


Madora met Willis when she was seventeen. After her father had committed suicide when she was younger, Madora was living with her widowed mother and not making the best choices. At a party she attends with a friend, she has a bad reaction to drugs and is "rescued" by a man named Willis. She ends up starting a life with Willis that she believes is based on love. But with Madora secluded at home everyday, and a teenage girl that she has to take care of locked in their trailer, it takes a twelve-year-old boy to help her see her life for what it is.


When the story first started, I thought it was going to be more of a thriller. As I continued reading though, it just felt a little surface level to me. I thought the story line had potential, but it lacked feeling. There are two stories happening really, Madora's story, as well as Django's story, and how they intertwine. It could have felt more real, but ended up feeling predictable in my opinion. It was fine, but not my favorite.

19 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page