top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Extreme Animals

Steve Parker


When was the last time someone asked you what your favorite animal is? As a kid, I bet you knew right away what you were going to say. Kids love animals. As a teacher, I've been caught of guard by the question of what my favorite animal is. I have come to realize, I change my mind all of the time. At one point, I would've said an orangutan. Ask me later, and I might say a gorilla, because the baby gorilla at the Kansas City Zoo is so flippin' adorable that I can't get enough of it! There are many days that I would tell you that my favorite animal is a sloth. Because, HELLO!?! SPIRIT ANIMAL. Lazy, can sleep 18 hours out of the day. Wakes up and eats. Yup...that's the life!


"YAWN...Sloths either rest, doze or sleep for up to 18 hours each day. They are able to hang on in their treetop homes even when deeply asleep."

4 out of 5 Stars


This non-fiction book gives information about twenty different extreme animals. Animals that have something that makes them the best, the fastest, the largest, or the most unique. You will learn about the sailfish, the peregrine falcon, the army ant, and many more.


Man, animals are so cool. I am continually amazed at the abilities and adaptations of different animals. And just when I thought I would recognize all 20 of the extreme animals, (because if they're extreme, I've certainly heard of them, right???), I learn about animals that I didn't know existed. Like the sunfish. What? That dude is huge! And the Steller's sea eagle. I'd never heard of it, but it's a pretty amazing animal. Kids will love learning all of the facts that make these animals special. The only thing I wish I had realized before I bought the book sight unseen, was that all of the measurements are metric.

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page