top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Cassandra, Animal Psychic: Cassandra Steps Out

Isabelle Bottier


Graphic novels. They seem to be a continuing hot topic in education. There are teachers and parents who will swear that they are a waste of time, and that kids who read them aren't really reading. I am on the total other end of the spectrum. Graphic novels ARE real books. And there are many out there that are amazing. AND, if a kid is reading a graphic novel, even if they only want to read graphic novels, they are still reading, and they still have a book in their hand. I'd let a kid read 1,000 graphic novels if it was helping to grow their love of reading. I have a huge graphic novel section in my library, and I'm always looking for new titles to add.

"I'm special. I have the gift of communicating with animals. It's a...surprise, I know. If I focus enough on an animal, I can see the pictures it sends me. Even feel its emotions."

2 out of 5 Stars


Cassandra is a fourteen-year-old girl, who is dealing with a lot of big changes. Her mom has been seeing more of her boyfriend, Bruno. Her best friend might be moving to England. And she's trying to solve the mystery of a missing cat, but the dad doesn't really believe that she is capable of helping. When everything feels like it's going wrong, will anything go right?


I really liked the illustrations in this graphic novel. They were bright, catchy, and kid friendly. Most of the story was something I feel that kids would be able to relate to, or would be interested in. I did think it was a bit weird that in one part of the story, there was blackmail going on because a lady wanted to leave her boyfriend. I think there could have been a different way to tie in the solving of the mystery. This was a shorter graphic novel, and would make for a fairly quick read. Overall, it was fine.

16 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page