top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Can I Be Your Dog?

Troy Cummings


We have a dog named Buster. I love Buster. He is so snuggly and literally wants to lay on top of my any chance he gets. We're both pretty lazy, so we make quite the pair. However, when Buster isn't lazy, he is crazy! He's jumpy and loud, and fast, and just...everywhere! The only thing we've noticed calms him down is when my brother comes to visit from Ohio and brings his dog, Riley. Riley calms Buster down immensely. So, my family and I have been on the hunt for a second dog. Man is it hard. You want to find just the right dog, and you want to make sure that not only do you love the dog, but that your house is the right place for them. Hopefully we will be able to find our newest match made in heaven soon.


"Can I be your dog? I am potty trained, and I have my own squeaky bone. Also: I love to play!"

5 out of 5 Stars


Arfy is a homeless dog, who lives in an alley in a cardboard box. Arfy writes letters to the residents of Butternut Street looking for a home, and the mail carrier delivers his letters. She also brings Arfy the responses that the people in the neighborhood write. Will Arfy ever find the perfect home?


I love Arfy! He is so sweet and loving, and I just wanted to reach into the book and bring him home to live with me. What a precious story about a dog longing for love. This is also a great book for teachers to use for letter writing. The students could write letters to Arfy, or they could write letters to the people in the neighborhood, saying why they think that Arfy would be a good pet for them. The illustrations are creative, and my students LOVED this book. This book was the winner of the Missouri Library Association's Building Blocks Picture Book Award for this school year. I highly recommmend it.

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page