top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Bruce's Big Move

Ryan T. Higgins


Have you ever gotten so fed up with up with something, you thought, "That's it...I'm just leaving and going VERY FAR AWAY!" I mean, really. Sometimes, you just want to escape. Relatable. I've been there.


"Bruce's house was crowded, chaotic, and loud. And he didn't like it one bit."

5 out of 5 Stars


Bruce is a bear who is a mother to four geese. (Check out the book Mother Bruce if you want to find out why). He and his four geese live in a house with three mice. However, the mice are too much to handle. They take up too much space. They make an incredible amount of messes. And they create craziness when all Bruce wants is a little bit of calm. So, Bruce decides to move away. Without the mice. Will he live happily ever after?


Oh, Bruce. My students and I just love him, (and his family...mice included!) This is one of several Bruce books, and we will read every single one. As a mom, this book spoke to me. Man, have I ever felt like Bruce. Get me away from all of this craziness. This house is too messy, I just need to start over in a new house. Oh, and why do ALL of my children and pets feel the need to sleep right on top of me. I mean, this house is big enough to spread out! The illustrations are wonderful. The characters are great. And the students were compassionate to the sadness that the geese were feeling after Bruce moved them away from the mice. We had the discussion that oftentimes parents put their children's happiness above their own. Lucky geese! Loved it!

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page