top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Bob, Not Bob!

Liz Garton Scanlon & Audrey Vernick


Colds are the worst. Really. They are disgusting, and you feel gross, and you sound terrible. Just no fun, all around. And moms...taking care of sick humans takes a toll. Am I right? Don't even get me started on when the dads are sick! If there's one thing I know, it's that even grown ups can be comforted by their mom when they are sick. So many times I've wanted my mom to come over and fix me cream of wheat and toast, and watch tv with me when I'm not feeling well.


"Little Louie wasn't all that little. It wasn't like he needed his mom every minute of the day. Usually."

4 out of 5 Stars


Little Louie has a terrible cold. His nose is stuffy, and his eyes are gunky. And his voice sounds ALL WRONG! There's only one thing that can make him feel better. But everytime Louie calls out, his dog, Bob, comes running. And slobbering. Will Louie get what he needs to feel better, or will this cold last forever?


I have to be honest. This book grew on me somewhere in the course of reading it to ten different classes. And, it was the kids reactions that made it grow on me. They loved the confusion everytime that Louie called out, "Bob!" They also loved making the discovery that everytime Louie called out ,"Bob," when he was yelling for his mom, the letter O had a heart in the center. And everytime Louie yelled, "Bob," talking about his dog, the letter O was just a regular O. Kids had fun with this story...and they learned from their librarian, that it is okay to always want your mom when you feel sick.

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page