top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Billie Jean! How Tennis Star Billie Jean King Changed Women's Sports

Mara Rockliff


My only background with tennis is 9th grade gym class. I remember having a unit on tennis. I'll be honest. I tried every trick in the book to sit out of gym class. I hated it. I was always picked last for teams. I didn't have great hand-eye coordination. I was terrible at sports. I just didn't enjoy it. However, you can't sit out forever and still pass a class. So, I remember trying tennis. Yup, I was just as bad at tennis as I was at every other sport. It still holds true to this day, if my Wii tennis skills say anything about my talent level.

"Anything Billie Jean did, she did it ALL THE WAY. When she ran, she ran fast. When she played, she played hard."

4 out of 5 Stars


Billie Jean King grew up during a time in sports where men and women were treated very differently. As a child, she started playing tennis. She was actually very good, though her parents didn't have enough money to send her to a country club or pay for private lessons. Billie Jean just worked hard. Not only did she become a world famous tennis player, she also played a vital role in fighting for equality in women's sports.


Now, if you read the first part of my blog, you know that sports are not my thing. And while I do know a little about some sports, like baseball and football, I really don't know anything about tennis. If you asked me to name a tennis player, I could probably only come up with Venus and Serena Williams. I had never heard of Billie Jean King. What a hero though! I loved her "prove them wrong" attitude and her drive. I love that she was passionate enough to stand up for what she believed in, and that like a true leader, she was able to rally the troups to make a difference. Great book for teaching about gender equality, and perseverance.

8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page