top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Beware of the Crocodile

Martin Jenkins



I love going to the zoo with my kids. We live pretty close to the Kansas City Zoo, and between my husband and I, and their grandparents, they've been to the zoo more times than we can count. We love it. Our children have loved animals for as long as I can remember. While the reptiles aren't my favorite, oftentimes kids are fascinated by them.

"If there's one thing you should know about crocodiles, it's that they're really scary--or at least the big ones are. They've got an awful lot of...teeth."

So, what did I think?


5 out of 5 Stars


This non-fiction picture book is all about crocodiles. It is written as more of a narrative non-fiction, following a crocodile around through their hunting, resting, nesting, and parenting. It is sprinkled throughout with facts such as, "A crocodile usually lays 40 to 60 eggs at on time, but a big one can lay up to 90." It is informative, but easy to understand. The back of the book gives more information about crocodiles, as well as alligators and caimans, and how to tell the difference.


This is a great non-fiction book for even the littlest of learners. It is very kid friendly. The illustrations and the information are sure to grab their attention. As a mom, I appreciated some of the humor that the author included. I would absolutely add this to my library and I know that my students would check it out. This is a great way to start building that schema before delving into traditional non-fiction.

7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page