top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Because of the Rabbit

Cynthia Lord


When I was a little girl, maybe five-years-old, I remember having a pet rabbit. I think it was around Easter time. It was named Butterscotch. I don't remember what ever happened to that rabbit. I'm sure finding out would just make me sad, even still today. When I first saw this book, my rabbit is the first thing I thought of though. It made me feel nostalgic, and transported me back to being a child, even if just for a moment.

"I'd rescued Lapi, but now I needed him to rescue me. I needed him to be there when I got home from school. I needed him to love me best. And I needed to believe that Pépe're had sent him to me to bring me rabbit magic."

So, what did I think?


3 out of 5 Stars


Emma is nervous for her first day of fifth grade. Not because it's the first day of school. Not because it's a new school. She's nervous because it's her first day of school EVER. Emma has always been homeschooled, but this year, she decided she'd like to try attend school. The night before the first day, her father is called to rescue a stuck rabbit, and Emma tags along. She ends up naming the rabbit, and falling in love with him right away. Between the struggle to figure out where she fits in with her peers, and the anxiety of not knowing if the owners of the rabbit are going to show up to claim him, Emma is a nervous wreck. Will she end up heartbroken, or does everything have a way of working itself out?


This was a sweet story about a family with a love for animals, and a girl who longs for friendship. I thought about my own children as I read this book. Emma and her older brother used to be so close, but now that he's spending more time away from home, she's feeling lonely. My daughter can relate to that...she would love nothing more than to spend time with her older brother, feeling loved by him. Children would be able to relate this book whether they've ever been a "new kid" or not. All kids struggle at some point with how to make friends, and whether or not they are doing it right. Heck, even as an adult I struggle with this sometimes. There is also a great message in the book about being understanding and accepting of those who are different than you. Just because someone is different, doesn't make them any less worthy of friendship.

7 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page