top of page
  • Miss Librarian

Albert Einstein Was a Dope?

Dan Gutman


In the month of March, I have been focusing on biographies as read alouds for my third grade students. The biography section of my elementary library isn't the most frequented area. In an effort to increase traffic that way, I have been introducing my students to a new person each time they visit the library. It's working...kids are checking out books about real people, and excited to tell me facts that they've learned. The waitlist on biographies I've read to them is several students long. I am loving it, and so are they!

"To graduate from college, Albert had to write a research paper. He got one of the lowest grades in the class. Not only that, but he used the wrong kind of paper, so his professor made him copy the whole thing over again."

4 out of 5 Stars


Albert Einstein was a fascinating man. I learned SO MANY cool things about him while reading this book. The thing that feels the most mind boggling to me is that when I hear "Einstein", I think to myself, "a long time ago." It wasn't THAT long ago. My grandparents were teenagers when Einstein died, but I've never really thought about them existing at the same time. This book is full of so many facts about Einsten. Unlike other biographies, Dan Gutman's Wait! What? biography series is written in a very unique way. The sister/brother narrating duo, Paige and Turner, (LOVE that, by the way!), go back and forth, conversing with each other and rattling off interesting facts. The format of the book, and the information and text level is wonderful for kids. I am excited to purchase this book, and others in the series for my elementary students. This series is going to be a wonderful addition to my library.

3 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page